West Sussex County Council election candidates for Adur and Worthing revealed

The West Sussex County Council candidates standing for election in divisions across Adur and Worthing in May have been revealed today (Friday April 9).

Friday, 30th April 2021, 12:54 pm
Voters will head to the polls on Thursday May 6.

The candidates not standing for re-election are Bob Smytherman (Lib Dem, Tarring), Roger Oakley (Conservative, Worthing East), Ann Bridges (Con, Lancing), Debbie Kennard (Con, Shoreham North) and David Simmons (Con, Southwick).

George Barton, who represented Sompting and North Lancing, died earlier this year.

Polling day is Thursday May 6, the same as the Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner election.

A number of wards across Adur District Council and Worthing Borough Council are also up for election.

The following candidates are standing for West Sussex County Council in the Adur district (incumbents are marked in bold):

Lancing: Lee Cowen (Labour), Doris Martin (Lib Dem), Andy McGregor (Conservative) and Russell Whiting (Green).

Shoreham North: Emma Evans (Conservative), Nico Kearns (Lib Dem), Deborah Stainforth (Labour) and Anne Younger (Green).

Shoreham South: Catherine Arnold (Labour), Kevin Boram (Conservative), Leslie Groves-Williams (Green) and Neville Pressley (Lib Dem).

Sompting and North Lancing: Carson Albury (Conservative), Lynn Finnigan (Green), Mike Glennon (For Britain Movement), Cathy Glynn-Davies (Labour) and Steve Male (Lib Dem).

Southwick: Angus Dunn (Conservative), Steve Gilbert (Labour), Patrick Ginnelly (Green) and Ian Jones (Lib Dem).

The following candidates are standing for West Sussex County Council in the Worthing borough (incumbents are marked in bold):

Broadwater: John Apsey (Lib Dem), Richard Battson (Green), Dawn Smith (Labour) and Bryan Turner (Conservative).

Cissbury: Ibsha Choudhury (Labour), Mick Clark (For Britain Movement), Julie Dawe (Green), Iona Harte (Lib Dem) and Elizabeth Sparkes (Conservative).

Durrington and Salvington: Noel Atkins (Conservative), James Darrall (Green), Emma Norton (Lib Dem) and Helen Silman (Labour).

Goring: Jim Deen (Labour), Trevor Hopkins (Green), Robin Rogers (Lib Dem) and Steve Waight (Conservative).

Northbrook: Ingrid Allan (Labour), Sean McDonald (Conservative), Joe Pearce (Green) and Nick Wiltshire (Lib Dem).

Tarring: Stephen Carleysmith (Green), Henna Chowdhury (Labour), Edward Crouch (Conservative), Marco Di Paola (Libertarian Party) and Hazel Thorpe (Lib Dem).

Worthing East: Caroline Baxter (Labour), Alex Harman (Conservative), Yvonne Leonard (Lib Dem) and Jo Paul (Green).

Worthing Pier: Christine Brown (Lib Dem), Michael Cloake (Conservative), Ian Davey (Green) and John Turley (Labour).

Worthing West: Beccy Cooper (Labour), Jacqueline Cranefield (Lib Dem), Paul High (Conservative), Sonya Mallin (Green) and Christopher Woodward (Independent).