SCFL reveals constitution for the 2014-15 campaign

THE Sussex County Football League constitution has been announced for the 2014-15 season.

Wednesday, 25th June 2014, 9:14 am

The new campaign gets underway on August 9 and there will be 20 teams in Division 1, 15 sides in Division 2 and 11 clubs in Division 3.

Crawley Down Gatwick and Eastbourne Town have both dropped down from the Ryman League into Division 1, while Broadbridge Heath, Eastbourne United and Loxwood were all promoted from Division 2.

Lancing had a reprieve from relegation, despite finishing in the bottom three last season.

Champions East Preston also remain in Division 1 after a failed ground grading to gain promotion into the Ryman League. Only East Grinstead, who finished as runners-up, went up into the Ryman League.

Worthing United were the only team to drop down into Division 2 as Rye United withdrew from the league towards the end of the season.

Rustington and Seaford Town, who finished in the bottom two, were both reprieved from relegation as neither Langney Wanderers or Ferring, who finished in the top two of Division 3, were promoted.

Elsewhere in Division 3, Hurstpierpoint are now known as Burgess Hill & Hurst Albion, following the merger between Hurstpierpoint and Burgess Hill Albion.

Bosham return to the league after winning the West Sussex League last season.

The Reserve Section Premier Division will have 14 sides, the East Division will have 12 clubs and the West Division will have 13 teams next season.

Full structure – Division 1: Arundel, Broadbridge Heath, Chichester City, Crawley Down Gatwick, Dorking Wanderers, East Preston, Eastbourne Town, Eastbourne United AFC, Hailsham Town, Hassocks, Horsham YMCA, Lancing, Littlehampton Town, Loxwood, Newhaven, Pagham, Ringmer, Selsey, Shoreham, St Francis Rangers.

Division 2: AFC Uckfield Town, Bexhill United, Haywards Heath Town, Little Common, Midhurst & Easebourne, Mile Oak, Oakwood, Rustington, Saltdean United, Seaford Town, Steyning Town, Storrington, Westfield, Wick & Barnham United, Worthing United.

Division 3: Billingshurst, Bosham, Burgess Hill & Hurst Albion, Clymping, Ferring, Ifield, Langney Wanderers, Roffey, Rottingdean Village, Sidlesham, Southwick.

Reserve Section Premier Division: Arundel, Broadbridge Heath, Eastbourne Town, Eastbourne United AFC, Hassocks, Haywards Heath Town, Mile Oak, Newhaven, Pagham, Ringmer, Saltdean United, Shoreham, St Francis Rangers, Steyning Town.

Reserve Section East Division: AFC Uckfield Town, Bexhill United, Burgess & Hurst Albion, Hailsham Town, Lancing, Langney Wanderers, Lingfield, Little Common, Seaford Town, Southwick, Westfield, Worthing United.

Reserve Section West Division: Billingshurst, Bosham, Chichester City, Clymping, Ferring, Littlehampton Town, Loxwood, Roffey, Rustington, Selsey, Sidlesham, Storrington, Wick & Barnham United.