Reflections ceremony marks Steyning students’ achievements

Character award winners with Steyning Grammar School staff
Character award winners with Steyning Grammar School staff

STUDENTS at Steyning Grammar School have been rewarded for their efforts at the annual Reflections ceremony.

Character awards were presented to sixth form college students at the Dome Cinema in Worthing on Friday.

Head teacher Nick Wergan told the students it was important to take time to reflect on both the good and the bad.

“Use this as a springboard for what you do next and what you can be,” he added.

More than 500 students, staff, governors and members of the wider community who had worked with the school’s Sixth Form College gathered to hear how the teenagers had embraced character-building opportunities over the last year.

Mr Wergan said: “Yet again, our students’ achievements, commitment and strength of character were inspirational. We wish them every success in their summer exams and know their resilience and zest will support them in achieving their full potential.

Millenniun Trust Award winners Amy Haeffner, Anastasia McIver and Cheyenne Derwin

Millenniun Trust Award winners Amy Haeffner, Anastasia McIver and Cheyenne Derwin

“I am very proud of our students, and thank our staff for the dedicated support they have given them.”

Three girls who set up the college equalities committee, Amy Haeffner, Anastasia McIver and Cheyenne Derwin, received the Millennium Trust Award and £300 from trust governor John Stevenson.

Sally Randall, sixth form college director, said they offered advice and friendship in the group, which meets weekly.

Drama student William Carey received the Lifetime Achievement Award for sustained excellence and modesty while playing lead roles in four school productions.

Use this as a springboard for what you do next and what you can be

Head teacher Nick Wergan

Mrs Jan Hobson said: “I have not worked with anyone who has committed more or worked harder, inspiring many other students.

“He is a natural and easy leader who is very talented but it is a talent that is carried with humility and the ethic of hard work.”

Certificates were presented to the Outset Community Volunteers who had done more than 20 hours’ service in the community and a special award went to Georgina Bettinson, who had completed more than 100 hours helping the elderly.

Peer listeners, paired readers and literacy ambassadors received Optimism Awards for helping younger students at the school.

The newly-elected student leadership team

The newly-elected student leadership team

Martin Leigh-Pollitt, chairman of Steyning First Responders, presented certificates to 20 year-13 students who had completed training on the community defibrillator that was recently installed at the school.

Luke Talbot, director of sport, reviewed the year with the football, rugby, basketball, dance and netball teams.

He commended the football and rugby teams for their commitment off the field, as well as on the field, including their rendition of Street Style in pink tutus in aid of Breast Cancer Awareness Month and the donation of their legs for waxing as part of the Red Nose Day fundraising.

Grit Awards went to the ten students who had completed the gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award and the four who completed the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards, Sophie Crossfield, George Dixon, Edward Simpkin and Samuel Welby.

Curiosity Awards went to participants in the National Maths Challenge and students who had shown a commitment to the International Baccalaureate programme.

Charity fundraising was celebrated with the Caring Awards, following a year when a record £13,515 was raised. Cheques were presented to the NSPCC, Macmillan Cancer Support and the Mary How Trust on the day. Comic Relief, the Malawi School Appeal and Cancer Research UK also received donations.

The leadership team passed the baton to the newly-elected officers, head boy Samuel Welby, deputy head boy Henry Hayward, head girl Olivia Francis, deputy head girl Sophie Crossfield, boarding head boy Nathan Chesney and boarding head girl Vivienne Onamusi.


Zest Awards: Paul Holt Memorial Sculpture, Lucia Dominguin Dominguez. Weaver Musical Advancement Award, James Palmer.

Resilience Awards

Year 12 Millennium Trust Award: Amy Haeffner, Anastasia McIver and Cheyenne Derwin. Outset Community Volunteer: Georgina Bettinson.

Optimism Awards: Literacy Ambassadors, Rebecca Darling and Toju Bello. Optimism Award, Eloise Reader.

Team Working Awards: Tim Roberts Memorial Cup, Millie Webb. Gary Reeve Memorial Cup, Yvan Godby.

Grit Award: Jamie Luxford and Ruth Allam.

Curiosity Award: Heather Webster.

Open Mindedness Awards: Henry Hayward and William Sproxton-Miller.

Caring Award: Hester Toovey.

Lifetime Achievement Award: William Carey.