Littlehampton Town Council holds annual meeting online for the first time in its history

Littlehampton Town Council held its annual meeting online for the first time in its history.

Monday, 18th May 2020, 5:38 pm
Updated Monday, 18th May 2020, 5:46 pm
Tom Robson, vicar of All Saints Church in Wick, gave an address at the Littlehampton Town Council's annual meeting, which was held virtually for the first time

Normally, the Littlehampton Town Council’s chambers are bustling with people for its annual meeting.

But this year, the New Millennium Chamber in Manor House, Church Street, is silent. However, not to be defeated, the council has turned to technology to hold it online for the first time.

At the meeting, which saw councillors tuning in from their homes, David Chace was made mayor – which you can read about here.

The new Littlehampton Town Mayor, councillor David Chace

The outgoing mayor Tracey Baker did not attend the virtual meeting.

Tom Robson, the vicar of All Saints chuch in Wick, paid tribute to three councillors, Rosemary Orpin-Jackson, Tony Squires and Chris Blanchard-Cooper, who all passed away recently.

He said: “Each of those three encapsulate what it means to serve others, and their deaths have left a hole in the heart of our town, but the legacy of all of their work will remain.”

He also gave some words of encouragement during these difficult times.

He said: “Where things have changed, much has changed for the better. Neighbours have got to know each other; key workers have heard how much they are appreciated; new friendships have been formed and strengthened in new ways.”

There were no questions from the public.

Town clerk Peter Herbert said they would try to ‘keep a sense of continuity through this period’ by keeping largely the same councillors on committees and keeping council representatives on outside bodies ‘exactly the same until we meet in better times’.

He also put out a plea for more members of the Planning and Transportation Committee, which was ‘desperately short’. This was echoed by councillor James Walsh, who said: “It is fairly thin, and if someone is not there for some reason, it means there would only be three councillors.”

Councillors Andrea Turner and Ian Buckland were then voted onto the committee.

The council’s Annual Investment Strategy was also approved for another year.