Nick Herbert in list for next Tory leader

Arundel and South Downs MP Nick Herbert
Arundel and South Downs MP Nick Herbert

A BOOKMAKER’S list of the ten most popular contenders for Tory leader in 2015 includes Arundel and South Downs MP Nick Herbert.

Ladbrokes has revealed the betting odds for the next politician to potentially lead the Conservative Party, once David Cameron has stepped down.

The current Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, has the most promising odds of being the next permanent leader at 9/4.

In ninth place out of 100 is Mr Herbert – a popular betting choice at 33/1.

Current Home Secretary Theresa May is in second place at 9/2, and in third is Chancellor of the Exchequer and Tatton MP George Osborne at 8/1.

Mr Herbert was the former Minister of State for Police and Criminal Justice between 2010 and 2012.

He became MP for Arundel and South Downs, which includes Steyning, Bramber and Upper Beeding, at the 2005 general election following the forced resignation of Howard Flight.

After winning, he became the first openly gay Conservative MP at the time he was elected.

East Worthing and Shoreham MP Tim Loughton does not appear on the Ladbrokes list.